September 26, 2013

  • The River Bride: Time To Send It Out Into The World

    Toni_Frisell_02

    With the press release making the rounds and news of The River Bride being this year’s co-winner of the National Latino Playwriting Award reaching more than just my Facebook friends and Twitter followers, it is now time for me to send my play out into the world. Time to send it to theatres far and wide.

    I have a list of theatres that I will be contacting to send them my play. A list that I think could be longer. Therefore, I am asking for your help, dear reader. Where should I send my play? And, acknowledging that theatres select plays based on aesthetic and audience (among other factors), here is the synopsis of the play.:

    Three days before a wedding a handsome and mysterious man is fished from the Amazon River. Set once upon a time in a small Brazilian fishing village, The River Bride is a tale of true love, regret and two sisters who struggle to be true to each other and their hearts.

    Also, it should be mentioned that The River Bride is the first in a cycle of three fairy tale plays all inspired by Latino folklore. The other two plays are in the works (Wolf At The Door is at a third draft and Alcira is just beginning to take shape on the page).

    So here’s your chance. Tell me where to send my play. Preferably to theatres with an open submission policy as yours truly does not have representation (read an agent).

    And, thank you.

    -M

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *