July 18, 2010

  • For Fun

    I came across this online analyzer called I Write Like that tells you who you write like. Of course, it’s a little difficult to figure out what to put into the analyzer since excerpts from plays often reflect the voice of a specific character. So I decided to put in two different excerpts to see what came up.

    First let’s talk poetry. I put in the last poem I wrote:

    Prelude to The River Bride       
     

    In
    the Amazon time stands still, as if this river wrapped its long body
    around it and contracted. The only time here is once, once upon a time
    somewhere between dream, between myth, between the shores of reality
    and folklore.   

     
    Like
    all the old ones this fairytale will end in tears, tears spilling off
    the edge of a pier. It will end with two sisters, one constrained to
    land and one to the Amazon’s timeless embrace. Two sisters, two sisters
    and a man fished from June waters just three days before a wedding.   

    And the result on my poetry:

    I write like
    James Joyce

    I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!

    As for plays, I put in an excerpt from Heart Shaped Nebula, a part of a monologue by Miqueo and result is:

    I Write Like by Mémoires, Mac journal software. Analyze your writing!



    Lastly, I put in an excerpt from Braided Sorrow, part of a monologue that looks like a poem on the page and the result was James Joyce.

    So, if we smoosh them together do we get me? But if my instincts are right, each character or play may have a different result.

    -M

Comments (3)

  • This application was a source of endless amusement to oh so many of us budding writers! Mine came out Margaret Atwood 4 out of 5 times, and David Foster Wallace the 5th.

  • Poisoned blood pounds through meBlackness takes my mind and soul,So young to be so wastedDeeper I fall, down in the hole.Need and desire burning my skinLike everyone-wanting for human touch.Me, I long since closed that doorDenying love yet needing so much.Anger drives to the point of madnessPills and talk, yeah they help some,Quieting the demons that live in my dreamsJesus, salvation-does thy kingdom ever come?On my knees I pray, crying at the altarForgive me; forgive me for what I doMy life soul being bargained forOpen arms a sanctuary, slowly I turn to you.Mother, Father-an orphaned childWounded bleeding dying aloneVultures circling as shadows creep inThe horrors society will condone.

  • Darkorphan I don’t think you meant to comment in triplicate. I deleted the duplicates.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *