September 19, 2013

  • Back or Same As It Ever Was

    You perhaps have noticed that the blog looks quite different.

    At the beginning of the month I was in a bit of a panic when Xanga went offline to switch servers. I apparently did not get the memo. So they switched servers and now the backend is basically WordPress.

    Okay.

    Time to move the blog.

    It’s something I’ve been wanting to do for a while and now I am in talks to get an actual proper website up and running. My hope it to transfer the blog over.

    In the meantime, I’m still here.

    But it’s been a good while since I’ve blogged. There’s a lot to catch up on. Here are the highlights.

    Chicago!
    I went to Chicago for the opening of the Alcyone Festival at Halcyon Theatre. I got to see the opening performance of my play Heart Shaped Nebula which is in the festival.

    My trip to Chicago was quick. Real quick. I arrived. The next day I got a bit of writing in and then saw my play. Which was good. So good to see after so much time away from it. To see actors on stage, watch the play come to life in their bodies, in the magical space of the stage, the projections, the set, the lights–everything. It was just what this playwright needed.

    The following day I was at the festival again to see four more plays. Yes, four. By the end of the evening my back was a little tired, but I’m glad I saw everything. The festival has a great range or work and style. And kudos to Halcyon for producing another great festival featuring women playwrights. Thank. You.

    While in Chicago I finished (I think) the third draft of Wolf at the Door. Which means I may have time to work on Alcira before the next AlterLab retreat.

    Yeah, I Said Feminist
    The Yeah, I Said Feminist Theatre Salon turned one. I went to the saloniversary this past Sunday, even got up early and made homemade scones. It was so nice to take a moment to reflect on all the good that’s come out of the salon in the past year–the new relationships, collaborations, resources, advocacy and personal change. I am so looking forward to seeing what we accomplish in this next year.

    Submissions Away!
    I’ve gotten quite a few submissions out the door in the past week or so. And there are many more deadlines fast approaching. But thankfully, the workplan is keeping me on track and as soon as a certain announcement becomes more public, I’ll be emailing The River Bride to scores of theatres.

    That’s All Folks…For Now
    Well, that’s kind of what I’ve been up to since the beginning of the month. Oh, did I mention I think there’s a mouse in my house. Yeah, I’m trying to deal with the removal in a humane and non-traumatic (for both me and the mouse) manner. We’ll see how that goes. So far he’s not going for the bait.

    And I’ve been busy this week. But that’ll will have to wait until another post.

    More soon,
    M

    p.s. And now, just because

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *