February 7, 2013

  • Hedwig’d

    When I left my casita yesterday morning I had intended to come home after work, cook dinner and go to bed early.

    I’m happy to report that by lunch time my plans had changed. I was invited by my friend Hugo (who recently stepped into the role of Luther) to go see Boxcar Theatre‘s current production of Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

    I jumped at the chance.

    And I’m so glad I did.

    I left the theatre elated. And while I love the movie version of Hedwig, the immediacy of having performers slide down a fireman / stripper pole to dance on your table and the stirring vocals vibrating through the air was so emotionally satisfying. Several times I found myself wiping tears from my eyes.

    So if you are here in the Bay Area I’m telling you now: Do not miss this show.

    Do not pass go. Do not collect $200. Go straight to Boxcar’s website and get yourself a ticket and bring your friends for an evening of fantastic theatre.

    After the show I joined Hugo and other members of the cast and crew at a near by bar for one drink before hopping on the back of a motorcycle to head home. Pulling off the helmet all my hair was tangled at the ends by the wind. And I went inside my casita, happy as a clam and running my fingers through the ends of my hair.

    -M

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *